Jobs may be duplicated for the purpose of reusing parts in a new job - say for a branch or very similar job where say the planning will be the same. The same function is used for restoring jobs back to previous points in cases where say pages have been mistakenly deleted or a wrong trial balance has been imported, or even where a roll-over has been performed prematurely.
Video tutorial of this feature used to recover a backup of the client before rollover
- Duplicate/restore is accessed from bottom icon at right end of client box
- It may be used in cases where a series of similar jobs exist (say a series of branches) by setting up one job including say file structure and planning then duplicating
- May duplicate trial balance, comments, attachments, prior years, revision history by selecting or deselecting choose content options (revision history includes the prior snapshots of that job)
- The job may be renamed as the duplicate is created or the name may be edited later:
- Duplicate also contains options for recovery (say in case of accidental page deletion etc.) to a prior point for rolling back – from what version would you like to use?
- These versions are taken from snapshots that are created daily (at 2:00am NZ time) on days when work has been done on the file, plus a snapshot is of the job is taken every time a page is deleted, and prior to trial balance import and rollover prior to action in case recovery is required:
- Snapshots are retained in the system for twelve months to allow recovery of lost data
- To roll back duplicate all content, select which version required from drop-down list and create the duplicate
- Lost data may be copied out of the prior version (copy) into the later version (by copying and pasting) then the duplicate may be deleted
- Alternatively, if the duplicated prior version is to be used the later version may be deleted (once confident that the duplicate version is correct) and the copy renamed
- Only duplicates still in existence at the monthly billing cycle date are charged for, so make sure that temporary duplicates are removed as soon as no longer required