Sharing pages with third parties

Sharing pages allows secure real-time access to selected pages within a client workbook as the auditor determines - for instance to invite a client or other third party to attach documents or make a comment directly into the software - for say completion of checklists, commenting on analytical review results or completing systems notes:

  • Any page in a workbook apart from transactions testing and documents pages may be shared and accessed by third party.
  • Click share command in bottom right corner of page:                                                                                                                                 Screen_Shot_2018-11-29_at_3.42.57_PM.png
  • Names and email addresses of contacts already set up will be available as auto-completes, if a person not in contacts may enter manually: 

      Screen_Shot_2018-11-29_at_2.52.46_PM.png

  • Choose the person to receive the share link.

       Screen_Shot_2018-11-29_at_2.55.43_PM.png

  • If the tick-box is selected "Automatically send link to the user" the following dialog will appear where the auditor enters a message - this will appear on an email sent to the client:

       Screen_Shot_2018-11-29_at_2.58.22_PM.png

  • Click add to send the client an email – includes message and a link (“token”) to access that page to add comments and attachments – email looks like this: 

       Screen_Shot_2018-11-29_at_3.03.00_PM.png

  • Alternatively, if the"Automatically send link to the user" tick box is not selected, a dialog box appears like this:

        Screen_Shot_2018-11-29_at_3.05.34_PM.png

  • This allows the auditor to copy and paste this link into their own email - along with links to access other pages as required. 
  • When the client follows the link (either from the automatic email or from the one sent by the auditor) they see the following dialog:

        Screen_Shot_2018-11-29_at_3.10.28_PM.png

  • This is for the case where the link may be forwarded to someone other than the original intended recipient (say where they think someone else will be able to answer the questions more effectively).
  • All items addressed by the client on the shared page will then be tagged with their identified name.
  • Client may only view the page shared (cannot see any other parts of the work-papers)
  • They see instructions on how to comment and add attachments.

        Screen_Shot_2018-11-29_at_3.17.59_PM.png

  • Client may add comments and attach files and if required interact with the auditor (users sees what client is adding, and client sees comments by user in real time – could be speaking by phone or Skype say while completing together):

       Screen_Shot_2018-11-29_at_3.17.19_PM.png

  • The share link stays open until the shared with… message on top of the page is deleted, or until the user selects "publish" (page may be closed and reopened by client if required - data is saved as it is entered):

        Screen_Shot_2018-11-29_at_3.24.48_PM.png

  • From the auditor's perspective a list of shared pages appears in sidebar

         Screen_Shot_2018-11-29_at_3.30.06_PM.png

  • Once the client clicks "Publish" they receive a message that their responses have been saved and to let the auditor know that they are finished:

     Screen_Shot_2018-11-29_at_3.31.54_PM.png

  • The side-bar summary is updated, and the share shows that the page has been completed by the client.

         Screen_Shot_2018-11-29_at_3.33.46_PM.png

  • Clicking in the share tab in the side bar shows the status of all shared pages. Any completed by the client and not yet concluded will show as ticked:

       Screen_Shot_2018-11-29_at_3.36.59_PM.png

  • Once the auditor has concluded the page it will no longer show as shared in the side bar view.
  • If a client has looked at or started entering data but not completed the shared page the last viewed details will be indicated in the sidebar and on top of the shared page as follows:

Screen_Shot_2018-12-11_at_1.57.02_PM.png

  • The same page may be shared with multiple people if required - they will see each others comments and attachments.
  • In second and subsequent years the commenter will be able to see prior year comments and attachments and bring forward and edit these if required (and they will be tagged with their name and date).
  • To retrieve the token for resending to the client if necessary click edit on the share link to see the message a copy and paste the access token for client access: 

        Screen_Shot_2018-11-29_at_3.41.33_PM.png

  • In subsequent years clients may bring forward their previous year comments or attachments, or simply ignore prior year response and type in a new response and bring-forward option will disappear.

TIP: Problems with access by third parties commonly result from them using out-dated browsers or trying to access via remote desktop

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Subscribe to our mailing list

We have a regular newsletter which includes the latest updates in the audit and assurance space as well as on to our latest work.

Click here to view previous newsletters, enter your email bellow to subscribe.