Setting up and managing users

 

Users are those with unique logins who will carry out and review the work (including external peer reviewers):

Screen_Shot_2018-12-11_at_1.19.18_PM.png

  • The account owner is the first user - they set up further users from the users tab in the sidebar as above
  • The account owner may swap that role to another user from the edit detail tab under account and billing in their sidebar (if an account owner has left the firm we may assign another user as account owner on written request from another partner/director)
  • By default the account owner will emailed monthly invoices and may access billing information, but this may also be assigned to another user (for example an accounts payable person)
  • The account owner may also update security options, for example requiring strong passwords, enabling two factor authentication, enabling warning emails to be generated when a new device is detected, enable reCAPTCHA and setting timeouts. 
  • Each user is assigned a unique login name and password by the account owner (an email is generated to advise users) - their work is then automatically tracked, dated and tagged with abbreviated user name
  • A user may then change their own details (contact detailspassword and user name), using their own users tab
  • If a user forgets their password or login details the account owner may reset these for them (if the account owner forgets their details they will need to contact our help-desk)
  • The account owner may change the role of users, suspend or delete users, and also elect to set up other users with the power to maintain users (they cannot change their own status or delete or suspend the account owner).
  • Here the account owner has ticked the box that says "This user can manage other user accounts":

Screen_Shot_2018-12-11_at_1.27.20_PM.png

  • When individual jobs are created the person creating the job is automatically assigned to the job, and may assign other staff from the users portion of the sidebar - allowing those assigned people to add work to those jobs
  • Third parties (e.g. clients) are not normally set up as users but may also have access to individual pages through the sharing system (see sharing pages with third parties)

Only the account owner or those given permission as above may delete users:

  • Before deleting a user it good practice to suspend them for a time ensure that all their jobs are complete and rolled over (otherwise work that they have done will have no user name assigned) - suspending them in the interim to deny access will leave their work history intact
  • To delete edit the user from the users tab and select the delete button at the bottom right
  • It is good practice to review the user lists at least every twelve months to make sure list is current –email addresses and other contact details

Limited users and peer reviewers may only view jobs that they are assigned to - other staff see all jobs but can only carry out work on jobs to which they are assigned. Full user roles and levels of authority are as follows:

 

See Client creation and deletion

Have more questions? Submit a request

Subscribe to our mailing list

We have a regular newsletter which includes the latest updates in the audit and assurance space as well as on to our latest work.

Click here to view previous newsletters, enter your email bellow to subscribe.